Six races and six different winners. The first race of Formula E is run on the track of Sanya, on Hainan island, in China, further reserved its share of surprises. The differences in performance between the 22 cars of the fifth season of the international championship of Formula E are so low that it is illusory to rely on a driver. It is without doubt one of the strong points of the discipline: the 22 drivers have their chance. Mark Preston, team principal of the team DS Techeetah, has said: “Anything can happen in this championship, in each race.” The winners of these clashes on the circuit paths in an urban environment, between two walls, are the show and the suspense.

Olivier Rowland was particularly dynamic in China. Andrew Ferraro/Andrew Ferraro / LAT Images

last weekend, in Sanya, the French Jean-Eric Vergne, the reigning champions, emerged as the winner of a race, glazed, again, many of the incidents. The narrow track, the main specificity of the Formula E, and the similar performance of the cars, forcing the drivers to push and pull for double. In Sanya, there was again uproar in the ranks! The English Sam Bird quickly left the scene, following an exit from the road. A bad operation in the championship. Before, the poleman Olivier Rowland (Nissan) would assign the first place to the DS Techeetah of Jean-Eric Vergne. Crammed against the wall by André Lotterer (DS Techeetach), Alexander Sims (BMW) had to stop his car battered on the track, which caused a procedure is a red flag for 12 minutes, the time to get rid of the BMW. In the last minute of the race, while Vergne was heading for his first of the season, Sébastien Buemi (Nissan) éperonnait Robin Frijns (Virgin) the braking of a pin. This incident was a collateral victims: the Brazilian Lucas di Grassi (Audi).

The classification of the event in Sanya, Vergne went ahead and Rowland and da Costa. André Lotterer failed at the foot of the podium in front of the Audi of Daniel Abt. By winning the sixth round of the season, Vergne is back in the title race. It now points to the third square, eight units of the new leader of the championship, Antonio Felix da Costa (BMW), itself separated from a single point of Jérôme d’ambrosio (Mahindra). In the constructors championship, the first four (Virgin, Mahindra, Audi and DS Techeetah) are held in a pocket handkerchief. The championship Formula E is now in Europe. The next event is scheduled for April 13 in Rome, Italy.

The podium in Sanya: winner Jean-Eric Vergne in front of Olivier Rowland and Antonio Felix da Costa. Sam Bloxham/Sam Bloxham / LAT Images


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here